The Hidden Stress of Procrastination

When I get home after a long day at work, I sometimes find myself frustrated and in a bad mood. Sometimes it’s hard to pinpoint the exact cause of this stress, as your inability to concentrate renders your ability to figure out what’s wrong with yourself useless. Too often when this happens, it continues all night and I end up wasting the entire night sitting online or watching TV.

What about the other days? What is different about them? How do we one day fall prey to frustration and laziness, yet other days get back on track and feel better about ourselves. What if nobody’s around to cheer you up? I’ve spent many a night lying in bed, regretting the hours of the time I just lost, only to repeat my same actions the next day.

I’ve found that very often I feel this way after work when something I wanted to get done that day is not being taken care of. Maybe I needed to stop at the grocery store or the bank after work and forgot, or had hoped to clean out my office or my car. Whatever it may be, I’ve noticed that when I have these plans and I get caught up in the haste of the day, my mood suffers greatly and clouds my vision of what I had hoped to achieve that day.

Take a step back and ask yourself “What did I want to do today?” Is there any reason you (really) can’t do it right now? If not, go and do it. Right now. You’ll feel better once it’s done.

 
1
Kudos
 
1
Kudos

Now read this

Learning Fundamental CSS Selectors

Introduction # This past January, I gave a presentation at work on CSS selectors, reviewing the basic CSS selectors and introducing our team to a number of selectors they hadn’t yet used, in order to ensure the everyone had been made... Continue →